Looking back at how I expected life to be when I turned 40, weighing two hundred pounds wasn’t on the list.  It’s amazing how easy it is for five pounds to turn into ten and then fifteen; next thing you know you are in a place you never thought you would be.  I kept telling myself that it was okay, I was just going through a lot and I would start the diet next week.  Something else I didn’t expect was this feeling of shame and embarrassment, it’s really heavy.

For me the combination of 40th birthday and 200 pounds was my personal rock bottom.  You always hear about that phrase and it seems so negative, but somehow rock bottom was very liberating and became my catalyst for change. This last two weeks I have lost 6 1/2 pounds and I am officially on my way!  I love the app I have for my iPhone, called Lose It.  It really makes it easy to become more aware of what I am eating and how it is impacting my weight loss goals.  This next week I am committed to add more exercise to my daily life.  It’s hard as I have never enjoyed working out, I often think about hiring a hypnotist to convince me that I love it.  (If anyone has had success with that let me know!!)  My hope is that by starting this journey and sharing it,  I can also help other people to start theirs.